Caring for Self…Caring for Community

The first Yankton, South Dakota mental wellness conference was held in 1999 in response to the need for training and networking for professionals passionate about serving those in need. The conference also serves to draw together individuals to increase awareness of the network of resources and support available to them. Conference planners include a diverse group of administrators, clergy, educators, healthcare professionals, industrial leaders, lawyers, and lay representatives to ensure that the education and supportive needs of all prospective participants are met.

More than 25 years later, the conference has grown into a vital community endeavor. It brings together over 225 participants annually, offering professional development and fostering a united effort towards mental wellness. Join us in supporting this essential event, where caring for oneself and others is at the heart of our mission.

2023 Award Recipient

Jean Hunhoff

The 2023 YAMWI Conference was dedicated to Jean Hunhoff for her ongoing commitment and outstanding leadership as an elected official. Jean embodies the ‘silver linings’ of advocacy for those facing mental illness, support for service providers, and vision for an ever-brighter future for mental health care in our great state of South Dakota.

YAMWI Board of Directors

Executive Board

Chair Dr. Tom Stanage, Lewis & Clark Behavioral Health Services

Vice Chair Lori Lincoln, Mount Marty College

Secretary Brook Thurman, SD Human Services Center

Treasurer Jason Pearson, Pearson Tax & Accounting

Planning Committee

Chair: Lois Halbur

Board Members

Rebecca Altman, Unified Judicial System, Court Services

Brandi Gant, SD Human Services Center

Lois Halbur, SD Human Services Center

Shari Hussing, SD Human Services Center

Desiree Johnson, Rivercity Domestic Violence Center

Mary Beth Kafka, Lewis & Clark Behavioral Health Services

Dale Knode, American Psychiatric Nurses Association – SD

Lavonne Lorenzen, Education

Sharon Oien, Ability Building Services

Joe Rehurek, SD Vocational Rehab

Amy Reyes, Yankton Public School

Chauntel Wright, Anchoring to Hope